Today I have the pleasure of helping reveal the cover for a YA fantasy, The Hundredth Queen, written by my talented agency sister, Emily R. King. This is a gorgeous cover, and I can’t wait to read the book when it releases! Now, without further adieu… *drumroll* ……………….. ……………… ……………. ………….. !!!! About the book As an orphan ward of the Sisterhood, eighteen-year-old Kalinda is destined for nothing more than a life of seclusion and prayer. Plagued by fevers, she’s an unlikely candidate for even a servant’s position, let alone a courtesan or wife. Her sole dream is to continue living in peace in the Sisterhood’sRead More →

Here we are, folks. You, me, the end of the world. I mean, the end of December. (God, I hope I only mean December, although after the year we’ve been having, who knows, right?) Ahaha, nothing like a little dark humor to start off this eligibility post and keep the existential dread of the future away, amirite? Moving on… While many terrible and unexpected things happened during 2016, some amazing things happened as well. I finally accomplished my dream of becoming a published author, debuting with my adult science fiction novel, Machinations, which Amazon has selected as a Best Sci-fi & Fantasy Book of 2016. Its sequel, Counterpart, wasRead More →

I’m delighted today to be hosting another cover reveal for an awesome debut author—my good friend and fellow Pitch Wars mentor, Kellye Garrett! Check out the cover below! About the book: Dayna Anderson doesn’t set out to solve a murder. All the semi-famous, mega-broke black actress wants is to help her parents keep their house. After witnessing a deadly hit-and-run, she figures pursuing the fifteen-grand reward isn’t the craziest thing a Hollywood actress has done for some cash. But what starts as simply trying to remember a speeding car soon blossoms into a full-on investigation. As Dayna digs deeper into the victim’s life, she wantsRead More →

In all the excitement of Counterpart‘s release this past Tuesday, I forgot to officially announce it here! So, yes! Not only is the sequel to Machinations available now from all major e-retailers, but it was also selected for Amazon’s Best Sci-fi & Fantasy Books of the Month for October! The high-intensity sci-fi thriller series that began with Machinations continues as reincarnated insurgent Rhona Long faces off against the one enemy she can’t outwit: her own clone. The machines believed their extermination of the human race would be over as quickly as it began. They were wrong. As the war against extinction intensifies, people are beginning to gain the upper hand. CommanderRead More →

Today is release day for Murder in the Generative Kitchen by Meg Pontecorvo, and I have the pleasure of having Meg here with us on the blog! What inspired you to write Murder in the Generative Kitchen? Although being summoned for jury duty is uncommon for most people in the United States, the situation is quite different in San Francisco, where I live. San Francisco has such a small population for a city (and county) that it has a relatively limited pool of people eligible to serve on a jury, so receiving a summons is strangely normal here–one of those little-known facts about San Francisco life. SinceRead More →

Thanks to all of you who entered! Without further adieu, here are the winners. Query Critique: Rachel Chaney Alexandria Sturtz A.Y. Chao First Chapter Critique: Kimberly Bea Natasha Hertanto Sandra Budiansky $100 Discount on My Editorial Services: Jessica St. Louis Dante Medema And because I just can’t help myself… Wildcard winner who may choose (ONE) of any of the above prizes: Laura Wilson-Anderson! I will be contacting the winners shortly with further details. Please respond to said email within 48 hours or your prize will be given to someone else! If you’d like to stay up-to-date with my blog, follow me on Twitter and/or subscribe below toRead More →

Tomorrow picks will be announced for Pitch Wars. Yay! Excitement! For a select few, it’s going to be a great day, the culmination of a lot of hard work, and the start of even more hard work. However, for the vast majority, I’m not going to lie, you might have a rough time. It’s going to be disappointing, no matter how well you’ve prepared yourself. Maybe you’re reading this after picks have already been announced and your name’s not on the list and you’re feeling like a failure. Well, let me start by saying, you are not a failure. Not by a long shot. You have doneRead More →

  Someone left a thoughtful ask over on my Goodreads page, and I figured I’d share my answer here as well, for those interested. These questions come from Jennifer: How long was your process from writing the first words on a page to actually holding your finished, published book in your hands? I began writing Machinations in 2011, during my second year of college, and finished the first draft in early 2012. So about 4-5 years between when I wrote it and when it got published. Mind you, a lot of that wasn’t me being stalled by rejection; it was me being lazy and notRead More →

To give prospective mentees the chance to get to know us even better, some of the Adult SF/F mentors got together and decided to answer some fun questions! If you haven’t already, go check out Parts I and II of the Q&A over at Dan Koboldt and Michelle Hauck’s blogs! Note: There are other mentors accepting adult SF/F, so don’t take this as a comprehensive list. The questions are intended to give you some insight, but they’re no substitute for the wishlists linked here: Michelle Hauck Dan Koboldt Holly Faur Michelle Hazen Nazarea Andrews Carrie Callaghan E.B. Wheeler J.C. Nelson Hayley Stone Michael Mammay Question 1: FavoriteRead More →

Today I have the pleasure of announcing the release of my debut science fiction novel, Machinations! Read below to find out more about the story, see what fellow SFF authors are saying about the book, and then purchase your copy at the e-retailer of your choice! Only $2.99! Don’t miss out on this exciting near-future tale of identity and resistance, set in Alaska! Also, there are ROBOTS. I mentioned that, right? Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival. The machines have risen, but not out of malice.Read More →