Today I have the pleasure of announcing the release of my debut science fiction novel, Machinations! Read below to find out more about the story, see what fellow SFF authors are saying about the book, and then purchase your copy at the e-retailer of your choice! Only $2.99! Don’t miss out on this exciting near-future tale of identity and resistance, set in Alaska! Also, there are ROBOTS. I mentioned that, right? Perfect for fans of Robopocalypse, this action-packed science-fiction debut introduces a chilling future and an unforgettable heroine with a powerful role to play in the battle for humanity’s survival. The machines have risen, but not out of malice.Read More →

Greetings! I’m Hayley, and I suspect you’re here to learn what I’m mentoring for Pitch Wars this year. Yes? Good. Well, come on in, make yourself comfortable… WHOA, NOT THAT COMFORTABLE Nahhh, I’m just kidding. You do you, potential mentee. You do you. Anyway… Welcome to Pitch Wars 2016! All jokes aside, I’m thrilled to be back again this year as a mentor! For a little history of my participation in the contest, I was an alternate mentee in 2014, and volunteered as a mentor in 2015. Both were wonderful, humbling experiences, and I hope to pass on both my editorial wisdom and industry knowledge to my future mentee. Could that person be you?Read More →

In honor of the upcoming anthology, Sirens, I have one of its lovely contributors, Amanda Kespohl, on the blog today to talk about the titular creatures and how the myth remains relevant to readers today. Take it away, Amanda! The Call of Sirens As Pedro Mendia-Landa writes in his article, “Universal Myths and Symbols: Animal Creatures and Creation,” mythology is a strange mixture of science, philosophy, and religion.[1] It endeavors to explain why and how the world and the things in it came to be.[2] Our ancient ancestors had no other way of explaining the world around them. Yet even now, in an age of DNARead More →

Today, I have the pleasure of sharing with you the cover for an upcoming sci-fi novella, Murder in the Generative Kitchen, that in addition to having a sick title, also has one of the coolest premises I’ve come across in a while. So now, without further adieu… *drumroll please* Ta da! About the book With the Vacation Jury Duty system, jurors can lounge on a comfortable beach while watching the trial via virtual reality. Julio is loving the beach, as well as the views of a curvy fellow juror with a rainbow-lacquered skin modification who seems to be the exact opposite of his recent ex-girlfriend backRead More →

To celebrate the recent release of Sara Dobie Bauer’s Bite Somebody, I have the pleasure of hosting her today on the blog! She’s here to talk a bit about her publication journey. Take it away, Sara! How Bite Somebody went from dream to reality By Sara Dobie Bauer The easiest part of getting published is writing the book. People never believe me when I say that. My novel, Bite Somebody, finally (finally) came out June 21, 2016. I started writing the first draft May 25, 2014. I completed the first draft in 41 days. Please don’t think that’s normal. It’s not normal. I was on some sortRead More →

To celebrate the recent Nebulas, where women swept the awards, I’m running a giveaway where one lucky entrant will win the following: A paperback copy of Uprooted by Naomi Novik; A paperback copy of Binti by Nnedi Okorafor; An e-book of Machinations by Hayley Stone (delivered upon release, July 26th, 2016) One e-book of their choice (must be a female author of science fiction or fantasy)    Entry is simple! Sign up to the Rafflecopter below through Facebook or by entering your email, and follow the entry instructions. Note: if you no longer use the email address tied to your FB, you will most likely never seeRead More →

Now that ARCs of my debut novel, Machinations, are available for request on NetGalley, I’ve been thinking a lot about how I’m going to deal with reviews. From what I’ve observed, there are three camps among authors: Those who read their own reviews, the good and bad; Those who don’t read any reviews, period; and Those who have someone they trust sort through reviews and share only the positive ones (or ones that offer useful constructive criticism). As I mentioned in my previous post, I come from fandom, where I used to write a lot of fanfiction. The benefit there is you get instant feedback on chapters, drabbles,Read More →

As some of you may or may not know, I come from a humble fandom background. My roots go deep into the Star Wars and Lord of the Rings fandoms, where I spent years of my life; occasionally I dabbled with TV fandoms such as Lost, The Tudors, and Community. My participation appeared in various forms: making graphics heavy on the feels, writing short drabbles about my favorite OTPs, and generally just reblogging the heck out of anything that made me experience an iota of emotion. When I first got started on Tumblr, I had no idea just how addictive it could be. Nor how driven I would become to make things that gotRead More →

Today, I’m so excited to be sharing the cover for an adult fantasy by one of my writing besties, Charlie N. Holmberg! I’m absolutely in love with this cover, y’all. You may be familiar with Charlie’s other books, such as her bestselling The Paper Magician series, and if you’re not—then go read them! They’re totally charming. And now, without further adieu… here’s the GORGEOUS cover for: Magic Bitter, Magic Sweet The peculiar tale of an enchanted baker who creates fairy tales’ darkest and most magical confections… About the book Maire is a baker with an extraordinary gift: she can infuse her treats with emotions and abilities,Read More →